Eating the Chanukah Candles

As I was on my way into CubeSpace this morning, I stopped and gathered up some Chanukah supplies: a Chanukah Menorah and a box of candles. My goal was to enable us to light the Chanukah candles this evening at CubeSpace. So, imagine my surprise when I discovered that the box of Chanukah candles I first grabbed informed me that they were “kosher.”

Now, kosher means “ritually appropriate.” But, in all honesty, there just aren’t that many ways to disqualify Chanukah candles. They don’t need to be made with any special intentionality. It’s not like they can only be made with certain substances. They’re  candles.  Which brings me to my second supposition:The manufacturer of these candles thinks we’re likely to be eating them.

At first glance, this seems truly absurd, but the more I think about it, the more sense it makes. Chanukah celebrates a miracle of oil burning in the menorah at the temple for eight days when it should have been exhausted in one. Therefore there are two main observances: lighting candles (in commemoration of the menorah that burned longer than it should have) and eating oily food (in commemoration of the oil in the menorah). Now, normally the oily foods are deep fried potato pancakes (latkes) or jelly doughnuts (suvganiyot). But, for those who really want to commemorate it  right, you could combine the oil and the light, and just eat the candles themselves. I think this must be what the package of candles I picked up this morning was suggesting. Candles, after all, are fundamentally, solidified oil. So you get the candle and the oil, all in one.

For this year, I will pass on this tradition. But in the words of Franz Rosenzwieg, I choose to say that  I do “not yet” observe this mitzvah.

2 Responses to “Eating the Chanukah Candles”

  1. channah Says:

    Although kosher is not really the right term, maybe they were trying to tell you that the candles will burn for the requisite half hour?

  2. rabbidavidkominsky Says:

    Okay, Channah, I suspect you are completely correct, and the idea had even occurred to me before I wrote this blog entry…but it seemed like such a waste to let a little thing like understanding get in the way of a good blog post.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

