Not Knitting So Much

I haven’t been knitting as much recently as usual. I’m not sure what that’s abou, though I suspect the heat may contribute to it, at least a little. There’s something about hot weather that makes sitting with a heavy woolen piece of knitting on my lap seem unappealing. Also, when it’s hot, my hands get somewhat sweaty, and the yarn doesn’t flow through my fingers right.

Nonetheless, the fact of the matter is, I’m not knitting much, which is a bit of a problem, since knitting is one of the things I do to relax and gather my thoughts. Which means I probably need some lighter-weight projects that are better suited for summer.

A couple of projects I might cast on are:

  1. Broad street mittens. Some mittens I agreed to make someone, and just received the yarn for. I made a bunch of these last summer, and they are in fact great summer knitting because the yarn is fairly thin, and you never wind up with so much of an expanse of knitting that it winds up draped over your lap.
  2. A shawl. Haven’t figured out which shawl yet (though I am thinking of this one). But I did just finish a big shawl, and am unsure that I want to get involved in another one quite so quickly. Besides, even though it’s lace, it’s woolen lace, in a merino yarn, which may block out to be pretty lacy, but probably won’t be quite so light-weight while I’m knitting it.

So, for the moment, I remain like a donkey stuck between two piles of food, unsure of which way to go.

2 Responses to “Not Knitting So Much”

  1. pdxknitterati Says:

    Are you a sock knitter? Sometimes a sock is just the right size for summer knitting. I’m seriously considering it, since my current project is the February Lady sweater. A lot of yarn to be hauling around.

  2. Terri Says:

    I am working on mittens right now. Not only is it a nice small project, but I get a good feeling knowing I am on top of the impending cold weather.

    The BEST thing to do with fiber that leaves your lap cool? Go grab your spindle.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

