Closing CubeSpace

Today is the last day that CubeSpace will be open. We still have a little cleanup to do over the weekend, and the farewell party Tuesday (4PM – ?, BYO, please come), but as far as regular business, today is it. I can’t tell you how strange it feels. Nonetheless, I guess I’m going to try.

I’m not sure that I’ve ever had something I’ve invested so much of myself in before. My marriage, perhaps, but nothing else. And to be shutting it down is hard. While I don’t consider CubeSpace a failure because so much good has come out of it, I also cannot consider it a success, since it’s closing. It doesn’t feel like a graduation, or quitting a job. It doesn’t feel like any of the other endings I’ve experienced in my life before. It’s just odd.

It’s also somewhat liberating. No more being tied down to a business that needs me here until 9:30 at night, or needs me here to open it at 6:45 in the morning. Or, more accurately, needs me here until 9:30 at night and needs Eva here at 6:45 in morning, and we try to squeeze in 20 minutes of quality time while we wind down for bed so she gets enough sleep before another day.

But I also won’t be seeing everyone in the community on a daily basis. I’ll still see people, but not as naturally. I’ll have to make time for it, plan it. Life will be different. I don’t know what it will bring, but it will be different.

Today is a sad day. I’m loving everyone coming through to offer condolences, and to say “see you in a bit.” Love that people feel the need to come in and say goodbye to the space. I don’t quite know how to say goodbye to the space as a functioning community. But somehow, I know that I need to.

Tonight, we will lock the doors at 7, and I will be here. I’m not normally here at 7 on a Friday (normally I’ve already left Beer and Blog for home), but tonight, it feels important to me to be here. As a rabbi, I’m used to marking such occasions with rituals and blessings. I’m not sure what the blessing is when you close your business, but perhaps I’ll figure it out in the next six hours.

8 Responses to “Closing CubeSpace”

  1. Dawn Foster Says:

    I don’t think it’s completely sunk in for me that CubeSpace will really be gone. We’ll miss it greatly.

  2. Rory Bowman Says:

    A beer and a blog sounds like the perfect ritual. If I had any of my homebrews left, I’d bring them down, but pubs are better for that kind of drinking anyhow.

  3. Kristi Says:

    Despite economic difficulties all over, it never occurred to me that CubeSpace might not be there when I’m ready to get back to work in Fall 2010, when Maggie starts First Grade. I am sad for our loss, we Portlanders who have benefitted from your creativity, dedication, hard work, risk-taking, and most of all your profound generosity. I am sad for your loss, too. It seems to me a ritual like sitting shiva might be appropriate.

  4. Jason Harris Says:

    My wishes to you for good things to come! Thanks for all you’ve done for the PDX Tech Community.

  5. Peter Korchnak Says:

    Thanks for all that you and Eva have done and achieved. In fact, congratulations! They say all good things must come to an end, and though it’s a sad thing, to close CubeSpace, it was awesome while it lasted. You two have a lot to be proud of. Thank you.

    See you both at the farewell party.

  6. realsupergirl Says:

    Hey, we’ve been thinking a lot about you lot lately. Hope you’re doing OK…can’t wait to see what you make out of the CubeSpace yarn J.L. sent y’all…

    wish I had a job to offer you. you are awesome, and will be great at whatever you wind up doing next.

  7. Year in Review: 5769 « Rabbi David Kominsky Says:

    […] CubeSpace blog and linked to. Then there was the post about my plans after-CubeSpace. My post on last day of CubeSpace was definitely sad, as was the day. And then my post, most of a month later, about moving forward. […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

