Spirtual Practices That Don’t Squeeze into Life

So, last week I wrote about how I was going to grow out my beard for the Omer, the period between Passover and Shavuot.  I chose to do this because it was a spiritual practice I thought I could squeeze into my life. After all, the only requirement was NOT shaving. I was unable to do it.

There were a few issues: first, came the invitation to testify before a committee of the Oregon House of Representatives in favor of two  bills, one establishing civil unions for same sex couples, the other prohibiting discrimination based on sexual orientation. I figured I should look clean and well put together for that. Then there was the trade show I wound up doing this weekend…again I figured I should look put together. And then we hosted a major networking event at CubeSpace for a group that is somewhat more carefully groomed than the freelancers I tend to associate with (there was a great deal of makeup in the room) and I figured I ought to be shaved.

So here I am, a week later, clean shaven. And I’m looking for another spiritual practice, one which won’t interfere with my work life.

2 Responses to “Spirtual Practices That Don’t Squeeze into Life”

  1. Jillian T. Weiss Says:

    Good for you, Rabbi! Thank you for standing up for civil rights.

    Did You Know: Oregon state regulations already say that an “employer may not refuse to hire or promote or bar or discharge from employment or discriminate in compensation, terms, conditions or privileges of employment because a person is transsexual when the person is otherwise qualified.” OR. ADMIN. R. 839-006-0206.

    See my blog on the Oregon bill at the Transgender Workplace Diversity blog at http://jweissdiary.blogspot.com

  2. rabbidavidkominsky Says:

    Thanks Jillian. I did not know that, and I appreciate the detail of your blog and the information on it.


Leave a Reply

