Savoring the Moment

Cherries. Wonderful, dark red cherries. Sweet, juicy, firm. Perhaps my favorite fruit. And a fruit with a very distinct season.

An apple you can get any time of year. Even a orange (whether or not that orange will be worth eating is another matter entirely, but you can get it pretty easily). But cherries only come around briefly each year (true, you can get them from various points around the world at other points in the year, but they aren’t the same, and they are far too expensive).

So, each June, I eagerly await the beginning of cherry season. I watch the progression, as the first fruit wanders up from California. Those are good…but what I’m really looking forward to is the local, Oregon, cherries. And once again, we are in cherry season.

I’m sure part of the reason I love cherries so much is that I can’t have them whenever I want. They are something that is only available occasionally. Not only are they only available ocassionally, but that occasion is not on my schedule, but rather a natural one.

I try to eat seasonally and locally, and I think that, in general, I tend to. But I also recognize that there are not that many items in my diet which are quite as profoundly seasonal as the cherries. When they are in season, I can gorge. Then, they disappear for another year.

Thinking about this led me to think about certain friends whom I see far more rarely than I would like. Ones whom I may see only once every 2 or 3 years, yet I count them among myclosest friends. And that I cherish the time I spend with them all the more because it is brief, and occasional.

And I wonder, what other experiences fall into this category? What experiences are made more special by the awareness that they are a special treat? Questions I’ll keep thinking about, but in the meantime, I’m going to go get another bowl of cherries.

Leave a Reply

