Getting back on the Knitting Horse that Threw Me

Yesterday did not go well. I was tired, out of sorts and had knitting problems.

I’m working on my first pair of toe-up socks with a short-row heel (if you aren’t a knitter, don’t worry about the details–this is simply a slightly less common way to knit a sock, but one that is not any harder than the “normal” way). I’d finished the decreases and was beginning increasing the heel (1/2 way done with the tricky part for you non-knitters) when a needle slid…and about 8 stitches dropped…not the last 8 stitches, the 8 I was about to knit…(for you non-knitters, this is “not good”).

I’ve picked up lots of dropped stitches before, and just kept on going. But these looked evil and difficult to pick up. Some of those stitches dropped back 2 or 3 rows pretty much immediately (moving from “not good” to “decidedly bad”). A better blogger than I would have snapped a photo of this to share with you all, but I just couldn’t face it. So you’ll have to take my word for it. It was ugly.

So I did what all right-thinking knitters do when life gets tough: I reached for a different project. I pulled a lovely shawl I’m working on out of my bag. This is a circular shawl, which means the needles should form a complete circle around the outside…but somehow there seemed to be a larger gap between the needles than I was expecting.

brokenshawl.jpg
There it is. a whole bunch of dropped stitches.

Neither of these are, in fact, big problems. They were just more than I could deal with yesterday. So I resolved to do no more knitting.

When I returned to this this morning, I discovered it was not such an insurmountable problem. Rip back a few rows, pick up the stitches, all better. I haven’t tackled the shawl yet, but it should be just as simple (simpler, actually).

Sometimes, you just need to let things sit for a day.

Leave a Reply

