Too Sedentary

I wish that I were one of those people for whom exercise is greatly satisfying. There are people who come back from a workout, and say, “wow, that was a great workout, I feel great.” I come back from a workout and say, “wow, in about 10 minutes I bet I’ll be able to breathe without feeling like I’m about to heave up a lung, that’ll feel great.” It’s just not the same thing, and doesn’t positively reinforce exercise.

I’ve tried walking and running. I’ve played squash and ridden exercise bikes. I’ve tried biking. I just don’t get excited by exercise. But I also recognize that exercise is absolutely vital to keeping myself healthy as I age. It’s not one of those things that is easily added into one’s life when one hits 50 or 60. Rather, it will have the most benefit if one continuously exercises from a young age. Or in my case, from middle age. So I’m working on trying to get into an exercise routine.

At this point, “working on trying to get into an exercise routine” seems to consist on publicly declaring my intention to exercise regularly (which is  what this blog post is).  The vaguely spring-like weather we’ve been experiencing this week is a bit of an encouragement to me to try to get out more. Maybe to think about walking to work one day a week (probably shouldn’t be a day I’m working in Salem). Slowly, slowly I will reform my behavior.

Hopefully, as you continue to watch this space, new and exciting news about exercise will pop up from time to time.

Posted in General. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Too Sedentary”

  1. Magpie Ima Says:

    Good luck with that. I’ve had the same struggle in my life and the only thing that’s gotten me going is an iPod loaded with music that makes me want to move.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

