ParaSox

I am, once again, working on Eva’s socks. And I find myself increasingly confused by how they are turning out. I like them, don’t get me wrong, I just don’t understand how they are doing what they are doing.

evas-sock3-18a.jpg

Two key issues are confusing me: 1. how is it that when I spiral the ribbing, the purl stitches stick out further than the knit stitches? 2. I reduced needle size to make the calf a touch smaller…why does it not appear to have changed my gauge at all?

I could point out where I changed the needles on the picture, but really, what’s the point? When people looking closely in person can’t tell the difference in gauge, I figure there’s no way to see it from the picture.

So I am left with the knitters final option: acceptance. I accept that I do not control the knitting, but that I am the vehicle through which the knitting flows. The knitting will be as it wishes to be, and I will help it come into being. (It might be worth pointing out, Purim happens later this week; Purim is a holiday of frivolity, joy and humor).

And so, I wait as I knit to find out what is going to  become of these socks.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.