Life’s Busy, but Good

I’m running  hard at th moment, and therefore haven’t had a chance to post much recently, but figured I’d take a few minutes to do so now.

Last night was Ignite Portland 4, which was amazing. My presentation went fine, I think, but some of the others were truly amazing. Carolynn Duncan did an amazing run down on the Portland scene from an outsider’s viewpoint. Cami Kaos‘ take on bluffing your way through life was a tour de force of stage presence at its best, and needless to say, very entertaining. Betsy Richter presented on how to do project or child management, and why it’s the same thing, which was perhaps the most useful presentation of the evening. And Melissa Lion‘s talk about the use of narrative in online communication was truly brilliant, and I’d have been delighted to have listed to an hour on the subject rather than the 5 minutes (which hinted at a truly remarkable set of ideas, without having the time to flesh them out). Oh, and here’s my presentation on spirituality in non-religious community. There were many other great speakers, but these were some of my favorites (admittedly, also, some of my favorite people).

Right now, I’m theoretically already in the car heading towards Bend for a weekend with a congregation. I’m very excited about this, but do wish that this week had been a little less hectic. I’ll be doing some last minute preparation (read: thinking) as I drive east. But first, since I need to go over the mountains to get there, I need to go buy chains for the car (a legal requirement, and probably a good idea as well). It will be a packed weekend with a service tonight, adult ed and a class for children tomorrow morning, a social get together tomorrow night, followed by some discussion about how one creates a congregation on Sunday morning. It seems like a great group, and I’m really looking forward to my visit.

In the middle of all this, I’ve also been trying to help a friend who found herself in a scary legal situation and scarily short of resources.

It’s all going well, and it’s all good stuff (except for the friend needing help), but I’m running hard doing life and not finding much time for blogging it. Hopefully I’ll have more next week.

3 Responses to “Life’s Busy, but Good”

  1. melissalion Says:

    Thanks for the shout out! My partner, Steve, said your talk was his favorite. And totally inspired him to change his thinking. Hmmmm….

  2. CamiKaos Says:

    I had to go back and watch yours on youtube as I missed half of it while we were there… I think right before I went on stage my brain shut off completely. You did a great job, very thoughtful and inspiring.

  3. CamiKaos Says:

    oh and thank you.


Leave a Reply

