Missing Shabbat

I don’t normally post on Saturday, because that’s shabbat and I try to stay off of the computer on shabbat. Today, however, being on the computer, writing this post, may be the closest I get to shabbat: remembering and marking the day by noting the absence. 

Today, we are hosting a conference (unconference) at CubeSpace. Which means we have about 100 people here, in various states of organization, and I’m part of the host. And also trying to do a whole bunch of networking. 

None of which is particularly shabbastic (shabbat-like). [Returning now after major kitchen cleanup]. 

I completely lack the consecutive attention span to write this post. So I’ll try to do it really quickly before someone else comes up with a distraction.

Shabbat used to be something I didn’t compromise on: I didn’t work on shabbat. Unfortunately, like immigrant entrepreneurs a century  before us, we’ve discovered that the job really requires working on shabbat, at least once in a while (a while being most often described as a “month”). 

I miss the old way of doing things, when life really did slow down on shabbat. I felt better physically, and was able to appreciate shabbat more. Now, all too often, my observation of shabbat is noting my lack of observance, which just isn’t that satisfying. 

In any case, that’s my minor thought for today.

2 Responses to “Missing Shabbat”

  1. Terri Says:

    I too miss Shabbat. I do not schedule things on Saturday, but the rest of the world is all over Saturday’s. Having a real day of rest makes such a difference in my whole week. Sometimes even half a day will work. Take it where you can get it.

  2. Year in Review: 5769 « Rabbi David Kominsky Says:

    […] on Judaism and Jewish Spirituality, starting with some thoughts about Yom Kippur. Also some thoughts about Shabbat, as noticed by my not observing it. Some reflections on Humility, followed immediately by a […]


Leave a Reply

