Spring is Showing Up Around the Edges

Here in Portland, we’re seeing the first signs of spring. On my walk to work earlier this week I brought along my camera, and took a few pictures as I went. First, right outside our home: narcisusNarcissus. I don’t think I’ve noticed this being the first flowers of the spring before, but this year, it beat out the forsythia.

As I was walking to work, I definitely saw crocuses. Many crocuses. Purple onescrocuses1, yellow ones. Purple and Yellow ones. I only got pictures of a few, but you’ll have to take my word for it, there are many crocuses all over. yellowcrocuses

I’ve also seen some camelias, which is interesting in that I think of them as a much earlier flower. Nonetheless, there they wwere in full bloom.

Then there were the flowers I didn’t recognize. The wild yellow flowers that seemed sort of muppety: crazyflowersKind of cool, aren’t they?

And some reddish buds that seem about to flower: aboutoflower2aboutoflower

This is the time of year when I love walking to work, because I get to see the flowers move along day by day. Each day there are new flowers getting ready to bloom, or trees getting ready to leaf out, or various other changes of state happening all around us. So I’ll keep walking with my camera, and hopefully continue to share photos with you.

3 Responses to “Spring is Showing Up Around the Edges”

  1. gabrielle Says:

    The yellow muppety-thing is a kind of witch hazel. Smells delish, no?

  2. Hannah Says:

    And the reddish buds that seem about to flower are daphne – you’ll know it for sure as soon as they flower because of the incredible fragrance!

  3. joyknits Says:

    Thanks for the taste of spring! We’re not there yet in our part of Missouri. I see someone beat me to ID’ing the muppety flowers 😉


Leave a Reply

