New Project: NaNoWriMo

Up until now, I haven’t been taking on any longer term (like, say a month-long) projects, because I wanted to be ready to start a job at a moment’s notice. Therefore, I did not sign up for NaNoWriMo back in August, thinking that if I were at a new job by November, NaNoWriMo might not be a good thing to have on my plate. But now, I am announcing my participation.

Wait, what’s that? You want to know what NaNoWriMo is? Oh, just this little cult thing…

Well, not quite.

Actually, it is NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth. Every November, people dedicate themselves to producing 50,000 words of text, often fiction. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for the last few years, but haven’t felt like I had the time to do so, what with CubeSpace and all. So this year, with no CubeSpace, and no steady employment to interfere, I’m in.

Do I have a plot for my great work of fiction. Umm….I have a premise, isn’t that enough? Okay, I’ll grant I need to flesh out my plan a little. I might even give tidbits of progress and hints about where it’s going here and on Twitter. And if you’re really nice I’ll shut up and keep quiet about it.

Let’s just say that the plan is for a challenging, funny, theological novel. Not necessarily my own theology, but theology. Oh, and it will probably be written in the 1st person (though I have one plot in mind that might be partly written in the first person subjunctive).

So, as I set out on this writing adventure, any words of advice? Any tools I should know about? Any jeers from the bleachers? Bring it on, ’cause I’m a NaNoWriMoer.

4 Responses to “New Project: NaNoWriMo”

  1. Erich Says:

    Good luck! My family and I have done NaNoWriMo for the last couple years. I have yet to reach the 50,000 word finish.

  2. Erich Says:

    PS — I’ve been using the yWriter free software to organize things: http://www.spacejock.com/yWriter.html — v4 works well; I haven’t tried v5 yet.

  3. @fool Says:

    i’m a 3-time participant, 2-time winner, and nano is among the best things i’ve ever done. strange, since i produced some of the worst things i’ve ever written–but not universally. there were moments of beauty whose depths i never would have plumbed without nano: i wrote my favorite passage of my several journeys after storming out of a coffee shop frustrated at my output (something like 2 sentences in two days, mid-november 2004), drove to my favorite bluff in austin and watched a meteor shower fight with a lightning storm over the city lights with some of my favorite mood music blaring out the car windows, sat on the roof of my station wagon (shh, i used to drive), and my character waxed poetic for about 500 words. it doesn’t fit the novel at all, but i love it a lot. and i never would have gone beyond desperation into art without nano.

    but hey, you’re already sold, so i’m just preaching to the choir, so to speak =)

    the only tool i used was my laptop and my favorite text editor, and a ton of caffeine. i didn’t organize or plan a damn thing, i just wrote. and i learned a lot about myself, even if i didn’t get a whole lot that i was proud of, textwise, out of it. and i managed to generate well over 100k words over 3 years. it’s a happy thing. i wish you the best of luck!

    i don’t have my heart in it this year, but i keep thinking “next year, next year!” and someyear, it’ll be the one to return and triumph again. i might try for a more realistic (for me) goal of one blog entry per day this year, tho.

  4. Terri Says:

    Firecracker, firecracker,
    Sis, boom bah.
    Rabbi David, Rabbi David
    Rah! Rah! Rah!!!!


Leave a Reply

