Planning is the Secret

You would think I would have known better. After all, whenever I work with an individual, company, congregation or other organization, I always stress that I can help them achieve whatever their goal is, but we both have to be clear about that goal before we start. We have to know where we’re going before we start driving there, so to speak. So, as I said, you would think I would have known better.

Yet here I am, half way through National Novel Writing Month, already 50,000 words into the novel, and do you know what revelation I just had? I don’t know how the book ends.

When I started writing, I had a premise. I figured that I would figure out the plot as I went along. It would emerge organically. Which was working quite well for me, until I reached the 50,000 word goal, and realized I didn’t know how much more I had to go because I didn’t know where I was going. Oops.

A long walk later, some thinking, and I think I have the an ending. It’s somehow “bigger” than I was imagining. More over the top, but I think it sort of fits the tenor of the story. As I write towards that goal, I’m sure it will shift some, that it will morph a bit, change in ways both small and large.

What I find most fascinating about this whole process is how far I got without a coherent  plot. Most of what I’ve already written will, in fact, be used. In fact, one or two pieces that I couldn’t quite figure out why I was putting in when I wrote them now make far more sense. Most of what I wind up tossing will probably be things I wrote in the last day or two, when I felt a little like I was beginning to spin my wheels.

And while I’m enjoying keeping you all updated on my blog, I’m afraid I have to go now. You see, I have a novel to finish.

Leave a Reply

