Building the Writing Muscle

I’ve referred previously to writing as being like a muscle that you build. I’ve always known that as opposed to physical strength, my writing strength is actually pretty high. I’m never entirely convinced of the quality of the writing, but in terms of quantity and speed, I’ve always felt okay.

In the past two plus weeks of NaNoWriMo, however, I’ve been getting feedback from people suggesting I’m underestimating my speed (still not sure of the quality, and frankly, that strikes me as much more relevant). Writers whom I respect, who make their living off the written word, apparently are impressed by my writing totals. Which I find a little weird. Because, if this is impressive, shouldn’t it be work?

But it’s not. In the last week, I’ve had at least three days of 5000 word plus production. And if anything, it’s getting easier to write more, not harder. Perhaps a little addictive, as well. So what am I going to do once I finish the first draft of my NaNoWriMo project? Will I be able to settle in to editing, or will the drive to produce new writing overwhelm my ability to go back and fix the stuff I’ve already written?

I ask this now because I’m about a day away from finishing the story. One more chapter and maybe an epilogue, and I’m done. And I’m pretty sure that’s happening either tonight or tomorrow.

One other thing. I happen to know that one of the problems with my writing is that I assume things that are obvious to me (because I’m imagining the story as I write it, so I know what I mean) and forget to put them down on paper. I’d love to have a couple of people who would be willing to read what I’ve written and tell me where I need to fill in the gaps. If you’re interested, let me know.

4 Responses to “Building the Writing Muscle”

  1. Audrey Eschright Says:

    As you’ve figured out, there’s a huge amount of variance in how fast people write. :) It sounds like you’ve picked a topic that relies heavily on your own experiences and knowledge, which (at least for me) really helps.

    I liked this post on how to revise a novel once you’ve finished the first draft: http://justinelarbalestier.com/blog/2008/01/02/how-to-rewrite/

  2. Terri Says:

    I am happy to be a reader for you.

  3. Mark Hurvitz Says:

    Consider me a possible reader (who is familiar with the territory you describe, at least in the excerpt you shared).

    `//rite On!
    ,\\ark Hurvitz

  4. Margit Schumacher Says:

    Loved the post. Are you doing any new years resolution this year? Mine is to quit smoking and lose all this weight I have gained this month lol.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

