Thinking About Writing Versus Writing

Recently, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about writing. I’ve planned out many posts for this blog. I’ve plotted out various chapters of novels. I’ve even begun sketching out a new novel. I have, however, done precious little actual writing. In case anyone was wondering, this isn’t a particularly useful way to go about writing.

I see things in the world, and I think: that would make a good blog post. And then, somehow, I never get around to writing it. I get stuck in my fiction, trying to figure out how to solve a problem, and rather than writing my way out of the conundrum, I plan, and think. Except, that I never quite seem able to solve a problem without  actually writing it. Nonetheless, I wait for the solution to emerge before sending words to page (or screen, as the case may be).

Sure, there are good reasons why I haven’t been writing recently: Passover, then my grandmother dying and heading back East for her funeral, and then returning only to spend a week so sick a trip to the kitchen left me flat for hours. But I’m running out of excuses. Now, I’m just out of practice, out of the habit, and need to get back into writing.

So here I am, writing about writing, hoping it’s not overly boring, and that I can make it the beginning of a new pattern: balancing the writing with the planning.

Posted in General. Tags: . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Thinking About Writing Versus Writing”

  1. Igal Koshevoy Says:

    My condolences on your grandmother’s passing. I’m also sorry that it’s been a rough time and hope you’ve recovered from the illness. I’m also sad that I don’t get a chance to hang out with you and Eva much these days. Please keep writing, I know it’s something you enjoy and it’s one of those little ways I can keep up on your thoughts and the events in your life.

  2. Kathleen McDade Says:

    Exactly. You can’t solve a problem without writing it, so you HAVE TO just write it! I have the same problem.


Leave a Reply

